Cruiser

Author Topic: Stereo upgrades for dummies  (Read 4554 times)

mikl

Stereo upgrades for dummies
« on: 07-Jul-14, 10:50 »
So my motivation is up since doing my Pioneer 6x9 speaker upgrade and dynamat in the front doors. Thanks to OJ and Sylox for the encouragement ( LINK HERE to Sylox's thread.........http://www.fjcc.com.au/f73/what-6x9-speakers-have-you-installed-3459/index6.html ......)

I have no knowledge (or want or need to know) when it comes to sound other than I know I like to hear it and that is becoming harder as the industrial deafness is really kicking in (seriously) hence I don't want to go top end and NO AMP just improve what is there either by replacement or tuning.
I have searched the gazillion threads on this in the Blue Room and just found the info contradictory and confusing and the yanks can't do anything without a huge amp it seems.

So lazy way out, I just want to know what people have done in the parameters of what is there, head unit the 6 speakers and the crappy (this seems to be the only thing everyone agrees on when searching stereo posts) exciters. Remember simple is the operative word no massive comp set ups.

Michael

OJ Clay

« Reply #1 on: 07-Jul-14, 18:32 »
You mention your Industrial Deafness Michael, so i would be looking for a set of bass shakers if i was you... It is amazing how much less you will turn it up when you can feel it... ( Old saying applies here..." If you can't feel it, why turn it on ? ")....The bass shakers normally use a built in type amp, and just produce the low end thump you would get from a sub or 2.. Mount a set of those under the seats and it will bring a new enjoyment to it all for sure.. I know Aura doa  lot of the shakers now days, but Alpine used to but unsure if they still do or not.. They do not produce any sound , just the vibration of bass... Need to mount them solid though as with any speaker to avoid the steel,  tinny rattles..